Brown-bagging a 40

Posted: July 30, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

It’s been two weeks since I’ve posted anything, and I felt like I needed to post something to prevent people from forgetting about this blog. But there wasn’t anything I felt like writing a whole column about, so here are 40 random thoughts from a mind that sometimes bewilders even its owner. (PS- The title was inspired by one of my friends’ propensity for brown-bagging 40s of Colt 45.)

1) Tosh.0 is the funniest show on TV right now.

2) The 2010 Cincinnati Bengals are the first team I’ve ever been more excited to follow off the field than on it. Really, really excited about the possibilities here.

3) On the field, though, I don’t think TO makes them a Super Bowl contender or anything. I view them as a wild card team with a chance to win the AFC North. They still don’t stack up against the Colts, Jets or Patriots, though.

4) As boring and lame as this sounds, I think my Super Bowl pick for this season has to be a Saints-Colts rematch, mostly because I can’t allow myself to pick the Favres or the Cowboys to get there.

5) I’ve never seen Dirty Dancing, nor do I intend to, but its soundtrack contains two of the best love songs ever — “In the Still of the Night” by The Five Satins and “Be My Baby” by The Ronettes.

6) Speaking of soundtracks, the two best have to be those of American Graffiti and Forrest Gump.

7) The Red Sox are poised to go on a tear once Pedroia and Ellsbury return.

8) That said, it will be tough for them to catch the Yankees and Rays. I think the Sox will make things interesting and they might still be in contention the last week of the season, but if I had to bet money right now, I’d take the Yankees and Rays.

9) I’ve seen Inception twice, read up on a bunch of theories about it, had discussions about it with a few different friends… and I still don’t know what to make of it. Every theory I think I like, I find one thing that turns me away from it. I can’t decide if this makes me like the film more or less.

10) Speaking of Inception, if I had to pick one song to be that movie’s theme song, it would be Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Sounds of Silence.” Just listen to it. It fits almost perfectly.

11) Why are people saying LeBron going to a strip club and doing a few shots makes him not a good person? 1) That means every straight male over the age of 21 is not a good person. 2) LeBron stabbing all of Cleveland in the back and showing no remorse made him not a good person.

12) ESPN pulling that LeBron strip club story from its website, presumably so it wouldn’t hurt its relationship with the NBA, is just more proof that its journalism, and more specifically its feature writing, is still far from the level of Sports Illustrated, GQ and Esquire.

13) The Funk Brothers are by far the best backing band in rock/pop history.

14) For the first time since 2006, I will win a fantasy baseball or football championship this year.

15) The fact that I’ve gone that long without a title is just absurd. I’ve finished in the top four in eight leagues since then.

16) I really need to find a good sign to put in my apartment window this year for all outbound Mass Pike traffic to see. My dad got one delivered to his shop that said “Inspections and tune-ups here,” but it was way too long to fit in a StuVi II window.

17) I really think the Bruins will be much better this season. I’m calling it right now- this is the year they finally get past the second round and reach the conference finals.

18) This summer has finally given me a good chance to look back on the 2000s in music… and it’s confirmed what I’ve suspected for the last 10 years. This past decade was indeed worse than the 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s and 90s. And any decade that’s worse than the 80s is pretty damn bad.

19) There were still plenty of highlights, though- Radiohead, The White Stripes, The Strokes, Eminem and Kanye West to name five.

20) I’m setting the over/under for college hockey arenas I visit this year that play Eminem’s “Not Afraid” during pregame warm-ups at 7.5. (Note: I’ll be visiting 14 college hockey arenas this year.)

21) I’m glad Harvard’s Bright Center is not one of those arenas. That place sucks in every way imaginable.

22) My preseason top five for college hockey is BC, Miami, North Dakota, Michigan and St. Cloud State in that order.

23) Chocolate chip cookie dough is the best Pop-Tart flavor.

24) Last week at work, I burned the end of my finger so bad I didn’t have fingerprints there for like five days. If you ever consider burning the end of your finger, I’d highly recommend you don’t.

25) Roy Oswalt definitely makes the Phillies better, but I still don’t think they’ll make the playoffs. I see the Braves, Cardinals, Padres and Giants making it in the NL.

26) Has anyone else ever noticed that Norway and Sweden look like they’re about to double team Europe?

27) I know it was Manchester United, but how did the MLS All-Stars give up five goals? Pathetic.

28) One of my history classes this semester has on its syllabus the book Bright Lights, Big City, which was also on one of my syllabi last semester. That means I’ll get to pull of the rare feat of not reading it for two different classes.

29) I’m convinced that if I wanted to, I could go through this entire school year without cooking a single meal for myself.

30) Charlie St. Cloud looks like it could actually be a pretty good movie, like something in the vein of Field of Dreams. That is, if it didn’t star Zac Efron.

31) The perfect place to split the seventh and eighth Harry Potter movies is right after the Snatchers capture the trio.

32) Speaking of Harry Potter, the only part of the entire series that really ticks me off is in the seventh book when Ron uses Parseltongue to open the Chamber of Secrets. There’s no possible way he could remember the exact sound Harry made to open it five years earlier. I remember hardly any Spanish words or phrases I learned five years ago. And I actually studied them over and over again (OK, that’s not true, but I was supposed to study them). Ron only heard it once. And Ron isn’t even that smart. That scene just isn’t plausible.

33) I don’t understand why my friends and I can’t get more than one good game of baseball going for an entire summer. Sixteen people say they can play and six show up.

34) I’m really getting comfortable with my goatee. I don’t see an end in sight for it.

35) Has any show stood the test of time better than The Three Stooges? I laugh my ass off every time I watch re-runs. I don’t think there’s even another 75-year-old show that still gets airtime.

36) When I heard that the Celts had signed Von Wafer, I got a craving for Nilla Wafers. There was no other reaction. Just that.

37) I wish Neely (my youngest dog) would stop mistaking my shoes for toys. I really don’t appreciate having to scour the house for them, clean off dog drool and fix all the laces every time I want to go somewhere.

38) Road trips are awesome. There’s simply no way to argue that.

39) I always thought I would grow out of loving the X Games, like they were some sort of teenage fad. Turns out they’re still awesome, and they only get better every year. If anything, I’ve only gained more of an appreciation for how ridiculously insane all those athletes are.

40) By the way, a deaf 19-year-old named Ashley Fiolek won women’s motocross gold. I can’t even imagine riding a dirtbike without being able to hear it, never mind race seven other riders that you can’t hear. This is a pretty damn incredible feat.

Today’s list: My 20 favorite albums of all-time

I guess this whole entry was a list, but I’m in a giving mood, so here’s a bonus list. A couple weeks ago, one of my friends (not the brown-bagger) and I were discussing our favorite albums. I knew what my No. 1 was, but I wasn’t too sure of anything after that. So naturally, I’ve put some thought into it and come up with my top 20. This is definitely subject to change, though, because my musical tastes are always shifting in one direction or another.

20) Led Zeppelin II (Led Zeppelin)
19) Bridge Over Troubled Water (Simon & Garfunkel)
18) The Velvet Underground & Nico (The Velvet Underground)
17) Late for the Sky (Jackson Browne)
16) Sticky Fingers (The Rolling Stones)
15) Arthur: Or the Decline and Fall of the British Empire (The Kinks)
14) Darkness on the Edge of Town (Bruce Springsteen)
13) Rubber Soul (The Beatles)
12) Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs (Derek & the Dominos)
11) Who’s Next (The Who)
10) After the Gold Rush (Neil Young)
9) Revolver (The Beatles)
8) Astral Weeks (Van Morrison)
7) Tommy (The Who)
6) Exile on Main St. (The Rolling Stones)
5) London Calling (The Clash)
4) Born to Run (Bruce Springsteen)
3) Abbey Road (The Beatles)
2) Dark Side of the Moon (Pink Floyd)
1) Quadrophenia (The Who)

Leave a Reply

